The Liturgical Structure of the Year

In the Universal Christian Church of the New Jerusalem, the Liturgical Year begins on the day of the Solemn Feast of the Immaculate Conception (December 8th) and ends with the Solemn Feast of the Father’s Heart (First Sunday in December) and is structured as shown in the following explanatory table.

The liturgical years related to the festive cycle are 4: Year 1, Year 2, Year 3 and Year 4. Each liturgical year is characterized by the reading and the meditation of the four Gospels: Matthew (Year 1), Mark (Year 2), Luke (Year 3) and John (Year 4).

Liturgical Times

Advent season

Beginning: December 8th
End: December 24th

Christmas Time

Beginning: December 25th
End: Feast of the Baptism of the Lord

First period of Ordinary Time

Beginning: Monday following the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord
End: Tuesday before Ash Wednesday

Lent Time

Beginning: Ash Wednesday
End: Holy Saturday

Easter Triduum

Beginning: Holy Thursday
End: Holy Saturday

Easter Time

Beginning: Easter Sunday
End: Solemn Feast of Pentecost

Second period of Ordinary Time

Beginning: Monday following the Solemn Feast of Pentecost
End: December 7th


The count of the days of Lent
Already in the fourth century, Lent was of 40 days, computed starting from Good Friday going back to the first Sunday of Lent. Having forsaken (in the sixth century) the original Easter triduum as a single unit, Lent was prolonged to 42 days, including Good Friday and Holy Saturday. St. Gregory the Great considered incorrect to assume six Sundays (including Palm Sunday) as penitential. Therefore, to obtain the initial 40 days (which would have become 36 without the Sundays) he anticipated, for the Roman rite, the beginning of Lent on Wednesday (which will become “of the Ashes”). But to obtain the number 40, excluding Sundays, it is also necessary to count the Easter Triduum, as in the time of Gregory the Great.

How the day of Easter is determined
Easter is always celebrated on a Sunday and coincides with the first Sunday after the Paschal Full Moon, the first full moon following the vernal equinox.
Easter: period of time between March 22 and April 25: early (March 22-April 2); middle (April 3-13), late (April 14-25)

Lent can begin in the interval between February 5 and March 10

Pentecost could be between May 10 and June 13.